Musical Connections

I was driving home from work today, listening to Jenny Dalton’s second album, Rusalka’s Umbrella, and suddenly I started visualizing scenes from Stephen King’s Duma Key.  I saw the Florida sunsets and the obnoxious pink beach house, and heard the chilling sound of the tide grinding the pebbles underneath it.  rusalka

When I was reading Duma Key (an absolutely fantastic book, by the way), I listened to this album a lot and I guess it became connected to the story in a way that when I hear it now I’m reminded of the haunting tale. 

I was thinking about this connection and realized that the music you listen to during the time you’re reading a certain book can become a kind of soundtrack to the story, and listening to it later on can bring back the people, places, and even emotions the book evoked.  Here is some other music that reminds me of past reads:

  • Tori Amos’ Boys for Pele and Queen of the Damned, by Anne Rice
  • Cara Dillon’s After the Morning and Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon
  • Metallica’s S&M and the Dragonlance Chronicles trilogy, by Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman

Do you ever find yourself being reminded of a book by music?  Does it make you feel the overall tone of the story or the emotions you felt while reading it?

2 Comments »

  1. Greg Z Said:

    Fantastic post! I often make the unconscious connection between books and music, as well. For instance, any time I hear the band Metric – I think of Arthur Philips wonderful novel “The Song Is You.” And the haunting, sensual voice of the lead singer makes me think that she must be what Philips had in mind when he wrote the character Cate O’Dwyer. It’s one of my happiest 2009 “reading moments.” 😉

    PS. Great blog – can’t wait to read it regularly!

    Greg
    thenewdorkreviewofbooks.blogspot.com

    • Jamye Said:

      Good, I’m glad I’m not the only one. 🙂 I love it when my love of music and books is intertwined. I’m not familiar with “The Song Is You” but I’m intrigued by the title alone!

      Thanks for reading, I’ll add you to my blogroll…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

