BTT: It’s All About Me

btt2“Which do you prefer? Biographies written about someone? Or Autobiographies written by the actual person (and/or ghost-writer)?
Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!”

To tell you the truth, I’m not sure I’ve ever actually read a biography, but recently I’ve been wanting to try some (and more non-fiction in general).  I’ve only read fake bios like The Memoirs of Cleopatra and The Autobiography of Henry VIII, both by Margaret George. 

I think both kinds definitely have merit and for me, it would depend on who the bio is about.  If it’s someone currently alive that I’m really interested in, I think I would prefer an autobiography, just so I can really get an accurate portrayal of the person’s life story.  Of course, chances are it would be biased and some of the things I may want to learn might get left out.  If it was a historical figure then I probably wouldn’t have a choice anyway but I’d prefer a biography written by a historian. 

Which do you prefer?

 

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. Lauren Said:

    I think I like Biographies, unless of course the autobiography is written by an actual writer about their lives as a writer(i.e. Stephen King writing about his life). I think if you are an actor or a performer or a politician, you are typically good at being just that and not an author. So I enjoy biographies about people I’m interested in written by a seasoned author.

  2. It really depends on the writer. One of my favorite “autobiographies” (actually a memoir) was Christopher Buckley’s Losing Mum and Pup.

    Recently got Ted Kennedy’s True Compass, but haven’t had a chance to start it just yet. I’d say for political figures, I also prefer autobiography – hearing their own perspective on world events is fascinating!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

