BTT: Too Short?

btt

Suggested by JM:

“Life is too short to read bad books.” I’d always heard that, but I still read books through until the end no matter how bad they were because I had this sense of obligation.

That is, until this week when I tried (really tried) to read a book that is utterly boring and unrealistic. I had to stop reading.

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?”

I’ve only not finished a book to the end a handful of times and it always pains me to do so.  If I’m reading something that just isn’t cutting it I usually just grit my teeth and force myself to get through it.  I’m the same way with movies.  Even if they’re so bad that I’m rolling my eyes and groaning aloud I always watch them all the way through.

The same question always runs through my head.  What if it gets better?

summonerRecently I stopped reading a book (Gail Z. Martin’s The Summoner) when I was about halfway through and it wasn’t that it was a terrible book, it just wasn’t grabbing me in the slightest.  I couldn’t quite put my finger on what was turning me off about it so much.  The characters should have been interesting and the plot should have intrigued me, but they both stopped short.

Another one in the past couple years was Mark Twain’s A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.  I got about halfway through that book before giving up too.  I might give it another try someday because I really liked it for the most part but once Twain started quoting passages from Le Morte d’Arthur that went on for pages and pages, he lost me.  yankee

I guess I need to realize that when I have to keep convincing myself that it’s going to get better, it’s probably not going to.  And with so many tantalizing books in my TBR queue, maybe I don’t need to be wasting time on bad books after all.

What about you?

4 Comments »

  1. Karoline Said:

    sometimes I feel that way too..I read a book and then halfway I stop. It’s odd…it’s not because it was bad or anything..I just stopped 😛 I’ll get back to them. Eventually.

  2. Jody Said:

    I have an inexplicable need to finish every book (and movie) even if I’m hating it. I seem to suffer from the “What if it gets better?” syndrome as well. (This is the only reason I finished that 2nd Vampire Diaries book!)

    I don’t know if I’ve ever given up and actually not finished a book. Sometimes when I dislike it enough, I’ll skim to get it finished.

    I have started giving up on movies that are awful, so I’m hoping to learn to do it with books too. Because the quote is right… life is too short, and there are too many good books waiting.

    • Jamye Said:

      I know just how you feel! I think it might be even worse with movies because you commit to the whole thing in one sitting. I’ve sat through some movies that made me feel like I’d prefer bamboo shoots being shoved under my fingernails!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

