BTT: Speed

Suggested by Barbara H:

What do you think of speed-reading? Is it a good way to get through a lot of books, or does the speed-reader miss depth and nuance? Do you speed-read? Is some material better suited to speed-reading than others?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!
 

 

I’m torn on this one.  On one hand, I’m envious of speed-readers who can devour books in a fraction of the time that it would take me, which means they get to read a lot more.  On the other hand (and I can’t say this with certainty because I’m not a speed-reader – although I can quickly skim pages when I need to), it really does seem like things could get missed this way.

Sometimes I like to take my time with books and soak up each word, and sometimes I just race to the end because I can’t help it.  If I was able to speed-read, I think some books would definitely be more suited to it than others.  Anything with complex narrative or in-depth plot I would prefer to take my time with.  Brain candy type books would work better.

To each his own.  If someone feels like they can really absorb everything about a book while speed-reading, more power to them!

5 Comments »

  1. Dionne Said:

    I’ve never learned how to speed read, but sometimes I am so excited to find out what happens that I can’t help myself and read a book very fast. And then later I can’t remember what happened in the book except for a few key points and some vague sense of whether I liked it or not. The first example of this that comes to mind would be Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows–I devoured that book and loved it, but at this point I have no freakin’ idea what happened in it…something about a horcrux?? 😉

    Maybe if I learned how to speed read properly I would retain more?

    • Jamye Said:

      Lol, I totally know what you mean! Sometimes you just can’t help it! That’s when re-reading comes into play if you can find time for it. 😦

  2. Barbara H. Said:

    I’m not a fast reader, and speed-reading would have helped in college. And as was said above, sometimes wanting to know what happens puts me in overdrive. But usually I like to take my time.

    • Jamye Said:

      Sometimes when the plot gets really intense or exciting I have to force myself to absorb each word, lol.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Jody Said:

    I’m definitely not a speed reader, but I have been known to quickly skim when I’m not enjoying a book.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

