Happy Wednesday!

Hello fellow bibliophiles!  I thought I’d post a few updates in between reviews…

I just finished the second Percy Jackson book, The Sea of Monsters, moments ago so stay tuned for my thoughts on that one.  Can I just say it’s great to be able to finish a book after three 45 minute sessions on my stationary bike?  Yes, yes it is.  I’ve been seeing the trailer for The Lightning Thief and I have to say it looks pretty good!  Anyone planning on seeing it?

I’m also still reading Under the Dome and I’m slowly creeping toward the end.  Okay, not really, but I’m definitely past the halfway point.  I usually devour Stephen King books immediately (I still remember starting and finishing Desperation on Christmas day in 1997, so glorious!), but this one is taking me a while.  Maybe I should have taken a break between behemoth books after reading Drood, which is also quite a hefty piece of literature.  But it’s starting to pick up the pace so I’m hoping to have it finished by the end of the month.

Yesterday I received my second book, gratis from the publisher, in the mail – Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa.  It’s about the Palestinian/Israeli conflict and it looks like it’s going to be depressing but (hopefully) great.  The reviews I’ve seen so far give it high praise so I’m looking forward to reading it.  I’m just going to do myself a favor and read something light and funny at the same time so I don’t get too depressed!

What are you reading?

5 Comments »

  1. Dionne Said:

    After finishing Schindler’s List, I agree that heavy books are best paired with something light and fluffy so you don’t get too stressed. Mornings in Jenin sounds good–I can’t wait to see what you think of it! 🙂

    • Jamye Said:

      I think I’ll save Lamb to pair up with it. 🙂

  2. Jody Said:

    I finished The Sea of Monsters recently as well. I’m enjoying the series and looking forward to seeing The Lightning Thief movie, but I think I’ll be waiting a bit as this is NOT the week-end to be going to the movies. (Unless you like big crowds and long-line ups that is.)

  3. Jody Said:

    We have an award for you!

    http://withagoodbook.com/2010/02/our-first-award/

  4. Will Said:

    This was very interesting, thanks!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

