BTT: Grammar

Grammar March 4, 2010

btt button

In honor of National Grammar Day … it IS “March Fourth” after all … do you have any grammar books? Punctuation? Writing guidelines? Style books?

More importantly, have you read them?

How do you feel about grammar in general? Important? Vital? Unnecessary? Fussy?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

Hmm…I believe I do have an old MLA Handbook left over from college hiding in one of my bookshelves but it’s been collecting dust since then.  I don’t have any grammar books (that sounds like a horrifyingly boring read!) but I do like to pay some attention to grammar when I’m writing, whether it’s status updates on Facebook or emails for work.  I admit that when I see someone using the wrong “your/you’re” or “they’re/their” it drives me absolutely batty. 

What about you?

7 Comments »

  1. I don’t fret so much with the grammar. Here’s mine.

    • Jamye Said:

      I’m a little worried about the future of writing with all the LOL, LMAO, etc. Haha!

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. I do fret over grammar–not as badly as others, but I certainly am mindful of it.

    As for grammar guides being horrifyingly boring reads, you should give Sin & Syntax by Constance Hale, The Deluxe Transitive Vampire by Karen Elizabeth Gordon, Woe Is I by Patricia T. O’Conner, and Eats, Shoots, and Leaves by Lynn Truss.

    Just managed to get my BTT online, though a bit on the late side. 🙂

    BTT: Grammar Brutally Murdered, Suspects Still at Large

    • Jamye Said:

      Wow, I’m so intrigued by those books just by their titles! I’ll have to look them up.

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. *sigh*

    Though I’m mindful of grammar, I’m obviously not as mindful of proofreading. LOL

    Forgot to finish my sentence, which should have been “…you should give […] a try.” 🙂

  4. Jody Said:

    I’m not great at grammar, but I try.

    I have a few books that I reference from time to time. The CP (Canadian Press) Stylebook – this one is more for formatting, but is a wonderful reference. I also have Copyediting & Proofreading For Dummies and Painless Grammar.

    • Jamye Said:

      That might be a good one to pick up!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

