LA Times Festival of Books Update

The author list is up! 

http://events.latimes.com/festivalofbooks/authors/

Over 400 authors are scheduled to attend the largest book event in the country this year to do readings, panels and book signings.  I was most excited when I saw Anchee Min and Christopher Rice on the list.  Other notables include Lisa See, Mary Higgins Clark, James Ellroy, Sarah Silverman, Buzz Aldrin, Thomas Steinbeck, and Stuart Woods. 

So I was curious how many of you regularly attend book signings and other events?  I’ve only been to one and it was several years ago. 

It was an Anne Rice book signing right after Blood Canticle was released.  I was so thrilled to be able to meet my then favorite writer face to face and even get a picture with her.  But there were so many people in line (naturally) that I felt so rushed when it was finally my turn that I just sputtered out something moronic like, “I love your books!” while she signed my copies and my husband snapped a quick photo. 

Then it was all over after hours of waiting outside in the cold in downtown San Diego.  I’m not complaining, it was an honor just to have that small time of interaction with her, but it would have been nice to be able to ask a couple questions before getting brushed along.  I felt like I was on an assembly line!  

Is that how book signings typically go?  

4 Comments »

  1. Jody Said:

    I went to an author event with Scott Westerfeld, Cassadra Clare and Holly Black. There was a power-point presentation (on Leviathan – very neat) a Q&A period and then the signing. The line for the signing was so long that my friend and I left without getting our books signed because we wanted to sleep that night. It was awesome right up until the line-up part though.

    • Jamye Said:

      Sounds awesome! Yeah, I’m not a big fan of waiting in lines either…

  2. deanjbaker Said:

    good to see this – thanks


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

