Book Review: Over My Dead Body

Over My Dead Body

Michele Bardsley  
Mass Market Paperback, 304 pages
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
May 05, 2009

 

Simone Sweet didn’t exactly have an easy life, and that was before she became one of the undead and moved to the paranormal community of Broken Heart, Oklahoma.  She carries a dark secret from her past, one she isn’t proud of but would repeat in a heartbeat (if only her heart was functional) in order to protect her daughter, Glory.  She’s perfected the art of putting on a happy face but it’s all for show.  In reality, she’s built a wall around herself and isn’t quick to let anyone get past her inner defenses. 

But when her tentative friendship with townie Braddock Hayes starts to bloom into something more, Simone may have to let her guard down and learn to trust him after her daughter is kidnapped by a covert military team dedicated to finding and exterminating paraterrorists.  In order to save Glory, she will have to give her full cooperation even if it means causing the deaths of hundreds of supernaturals, not to mention the man she’s fallen head over heels for. 

Part of Bardsley’s Broken Heart Vampire Series, these books are fast and easy brain candy.  Like all the ones that preceded it, Over My Dead Body was just so much fun to read.  Pure entertainment.  While there are some pretty horrific moments in this book, overall it was uplifting and left me smiling and feeling good.  I love that the main characters of each book, all single parents and most suffering from some kind of tragic past or emotional damage, find unexpected true love when their town is flipped upside down after a series of attacks by a sick vampire.

Aside from all the action and adventure, it’s interesting to read about all the changes in Broken Heart since the Consortium took over and essentially turned it into a paranormal community – how the kids adjust to a nocturnal lifestyle, managing blood donors for the vampires, policing and protecting a fledgling hodgepodge of supernatural creatures, etc.  Besides vampires, Broken Heart is also home to werewolves, Roma, and faeries, with the occasional dragon, fate, and deity popping their heads in.  Over My Dead Body features the appearance of the first pixie in over a century in the form of a haughty little creature called Flet.

Simone is a likable character that I instantly connected with, and I enjoyed reading the little excerpts from Brady’s journal that are scattered throughout the book.  Some old friends, including Patrick, Patsy, Gabriel, Damian, Jessica, and Ruadan, make appearances and some interesting new characters (like a recently deceased elderly comedian turned vampire named George) are introduced. 

The first in the series, I’m the Vampire, That’s Why, is still my favorite but this one was definitely up there.  The first chapter grabbed my attention and didn’t let go until the last page.  I was so frustrated when things weren’t going Simone’s way and I was rooting for her the whole time.  If you have a sweet tooth and need some brain candy, give these books a try!

Have you read any of the Broken Heart series?  What do you think of them?  What are your go-to brain candy books?

And many thanks to Robin for letting me borrow this one!

6 Comments »

  1. Robin Said:

    I am so glad you like these books too! Definitely my favorite brain candy! I gotta say that I really like Patsy, but my heart totally went out to Simone throughout the whole book. I can’t wait for the next one. 🙂

    • Jamye Said:

      I read the excerpt from the next one you lent me and it already sucked me in! Huzzah for Broken Heart!

  2. Angela M Said:

    Found you on the blog hop, new follower 🙂
    Here’s me http://readingangel002.blogspot.com/

    • Jamye Said:

      Yay, thanks! Heading your way now… HOP!

  3. Karoline Said:

    Heard of them, never read them. They’re all on my wishlist. I’ll get around to it. Great review. I love easy brain candy reads 😉 especially after large epic novels…

    • Jamye Said:

      Me too, I definitely needed something fun and fast after being immersed in Under the Dome for so long. You’ll love these!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

