BTT: Sensual

Sensual March 18, 2010

btt button

Which do you prefer? Lurid, fruity prose, awash in imagery and sensuous textures and colors? Or straight-forward, clean, simple prose?

(You thought I was going to ask something else, didn’t you? Admit it!)
Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I think both styles have their place.  For me, it depends on the kind of story that’s being told and whether the flowery language adds to it or is just a distraction.  Cramming as many words as possible into never-ending sentences can be tedious to the reader, but I love descriptions that evoke all five senses and really make me feel like I’ve been transported to another time and place.  Short, choppy sentences that are devoid of any description can also be annoying, but sometimes that style makes for an exciting, fast pace that really gets your heart pumping. 

Either way, whether the language is straight-forward and to the point or drenched with imagery and sensual descriptions, if the writing is good and it flows with the story, I’m game.

What’s your answer?

5 Comments »

  1. I have to agree with you there. It really just boils down to how good the author is with crafting his story.

    Feel free to drop by and say hello some time. My own answer is up: BTT: Shakespeare or Hemingway

  2. beastmomma Said:

    I agree with you. I think my appreciation or frustration with style of writing depends on its relationship with the text. Here is my response:
    http://beastmomma.squarespace.com/from-shelf-to-hand/2010/3/18/booking-through-thursday-sensual.html

  3. Jamye Said:

    Ann-Kat, my thoughts exactly!

    Beastmomma, I know what you mean, it’s all about context and mood.

    Thanks to both of you for stopping by and commenting!

  4. John Soares Said:

    Both have their place.

    A problem is when the metaphors or similes don’t work for me, which yanks me right out of the story.

    In my own writing (I’m a full-time freelance writer), I rely primarily on clean and straight-forward prose.

    • Jamye Said:

      Hi John! Yes, if the metaphors are too distracting it defeats the purpose entirely. But sometimes beautiful language pulls me in just as much as the story itself.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

