Musing Mondays – March 29th

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about multitasking.

Do you – or are you even able – to do other things while you read? Do you knit, hold a conversation, keep an eye on the TV? Anything?

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your opinion in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks.

Musing Mondays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Rebecca at Just One More Page…

I’m pretty decent at multi-tasking in general, but honestly I can’t do much else while reading.  I can munch on a snack or sip coffee (which is much easier to do now that I have my Nook), but I get distracted so easily it’s hard for me to keep my head in the story with too many other things going on in the background.  If I’m really engrossed in the book I can usually read on the couch while my husband has the TV on, but that’s pretty much the extent of my reading multi-tasking.  And I’m not sure that even counts since I’m not watching the show as well.  Although I do take the opportunity to read a few pages during commercials if we’re watching something live.  Sometimes I can have music on in the background but I’ll usually start paying attention to the lyrics and it snaps me back to reality.  

Yesterday I spent a couple hours reading on the beach (which was fantastic!) but even that proved to be too much of a distraction at times.  The temptation to people-watch or just stare at the waves crashing on the rocks, dogs and kids running by, locals complaining about the growing sea lion population, trying to figure out why one girl was posing by the water a la Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition while her mom (I’m guessing, anyway) snapped pictures of her.  You know, a typical day at the beach.  While all this was going on I only read a few pages at a time before taking a break to splash in the water to cool off or survey my surroundings.  

What’s your answer?

2 Comments »

  1. caite Said:

    wow, does drinking tea while reading count as multi-tasking? if so, then yes I do…lol
    sometimes I like the white noise of music of the TV in the background while I read. but I don’t really pay attention to it.

  2. Nise' Said:

    Looking forward to those days reading at the beach.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

