Earth Day Updates

Happy Earth Day! 

Just thought I’d check in and give you a few updates about what I’m currently reading and what I’ve been up to in general.

I’m almost finished with Brighid’s Quest – I think I have about 40 or 50 pages to go so a review should be coming shortly. 

Still reading An Echo in the Bone and with about 200 pages left, it’s finally getting really good.  I’d be really curious to see what others think of this book who’ve read it, but it seems to me that a few hundred pages could have been easily cut out to keep the story flowing. 

I started The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on Monday and at first I was surprised to find that I couldn’t really get into the story (the writing style is somewhat abrupt at times, almost like reading a list).  Finally around page 100 I started getting sucked in and now I’m halfway through and something shocking just happened to one of the characters that was like a slap in the face.  Needless to say, I’m hooked now. 

Last weekend I was in Las Vegas and I finally got to go to the Titanic Exhibition at Luxor.  It was very well done and I highly recommend it.  I was amazed by the quantity and state of preservation of the artifacts on display and seeing pictures of the passengers and reading their stories was haunting and deeply moving.  I picked up The Sinking of the Titanic at the gift shop on the way out, which is a collection of witness accounts from surviving passengers and crew that was written in 1912, and got about halfway through it on the short flight back to Los Angeles.  It’s extremely fascinating so far.

Other than that I haven’t really had a chance to participate in weekly memes because I’ve been devoting much of my free time working on a fantasy novel that my cousin and I are collaborating on.  In fact, we just launched a website that will be dedicated to the story and the world of Salona we’re creating and I’m excited to post the link here:

www.writersofsalona.com

So far we have some character bios, a short synopsis, and an excerpt from the story but we’ll be adding some images soon.  Stop by and let us know what you think! 

 

This weekend I’m going to the annual LA Times Festival of Books for the first time and I’m so excited to get to meet some of my fellow SoCal book bloggers!  I bought tickets to some of the author panels and I’m planning on lifting my temporary book-buying ban to pick up at least the new Christopher Rice and Anchee Min books while I’m there (and hopefully get them signed!). 

Will you be there?  Have you been to past events?

Leave a Reply

