Archive for March 1, 2010

Tidbits

Jacqueline Carey’s new book Naamah’s Curse is scheduled to be released this June.  It’s the second in her Moirin trilogy and I’m so excited to get my hands on it (and check out the gorgeous cover)!  If you’re interested, head over to The Signed Page to pre-order a signed copy.

 

 

 

 

 

Patrick Rothfuss, author of Name of the Wind, just announced some upcoming appearances (sadly, none of them in my neck of the woods) on his website along with some recent blog updates on the progress of his eagerly awaited follow-up to his debut novel.  The bad news is that there’s still no sign of a publication date and the manuscript is not quite ready to hit the press.  The good news (and I’ll take what I can get!) is that it is one step closer and rest assured he’s working on it and would like us all to get off his back about the subject.  Check out the pics of the latest, and quite sizable, draft of The Wise Man’s Fear which feature his uber adorable baby. 

 

Maria V. Snyder’s new YA book, Inside Out, comes out next month and you can read the first chapter at her website.  Also, be sure to stop by at the end of the month for an Author Q&A post where Maria answers questions about her multiple award-winning fantasy series and passes on advice to aspiring writers.

 

 

The 2010 LA Times Festival of Books will be held at the UCLA campus on the weekend of April 24-25.  I’ve never attended but I’m hoping I can make it and meet some fellow SoCal bloggers!  Free tickets are needed for the indoor panels and sessions and they’ll be available starting April 19th.  More info should be out this month so I’ll be sure to post any updates I can find.  Is anyone planning on going?

 

That’s it for now, hope everyone has a great week!